- Text size: A A

Newtownabbey Sports Awards

17 April 2015

The Newtownabbey Sports Awards event took place on 25 March at the Theatre at The Mill to celebrate and recognise individuals and clubs that make a difference through sport.

The celebratory event was hosted by broadcaster, video journalist and sports presenter, Denise Watson. A highlight of the evening was Gary Longwell’s induction into the Newtownabbey Hall of Fame. Another accolade on the evening was the Janet Parkinson award, presented by Councillor Fraser Agnew MBE, to David Jeffrey for his dedication and service to football.

The evening included an impressive review of the year through an audio visual presentation showcasing the nominees and their contribution to sport.

The Sports Awards 2014 winners are:


Services to Sport:
Pat Hall, for her contribution to hockey including club development and the Parkview Ladies Hockey Club.


Junior Team of the Year:
Ballyclare Mini Rugby, for their energetic approach to mini rugby, growing club numbers and involvement in schemes such as ‘Play Fair’.


Club of the Year: 
Abbey Judo Club, for their development of the sport for all ages, and its numerous competitive achievements over the past year.


Coach of the Year:
Johnny Foster (golf). Picking up the award is Johnny’s sister, Lynsey Foster, pictured with Jacqui Dixon, Chief Executive, Antrim and Newtownabbey District Council.


Junior Sportsperson of the Year:
Danielle Hill, for her commitment to swimming and qualification for the European Junior Championships, and Commonwealth Games where she reached the semi-finals at the age of 14.


Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: 
Carole Catling, for her dedication to table tennis including a Gold Medal at the Special Olympic All Ireland Games, and qualifying for the Special Olympics World Games.


Adult Sportsperson of the Year: 
Paddy Barnes, for his boxing dedication and numerous achievements including a Gold medal at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.


Janet Parkinson Award: 
David Jeffrey, for his contribution to football over many years, and the achievement of 31 trophies during his seventeen year tenure as manager of Linfield Football Club.


Hall of Fame Inductee:
Gary Longwell, for his accomplishments at local and international rugby levels where he played for over 14 years, and his continued contribution to coaching and rugby development.


Speaking at the Awards, Mayor of Newtownabbey, Alderman Thomas Hogg commented, “Tonight’s event highlights the remarkable sporting talent in the Borough of Newtownabbey. I am pleased to welcome Gary Longwell to the illustrious Newtownabbey Hall of Fame. This has been a very memorable evening and I would like to congratulate all the nominees and winners on their achievements and for their contribution to sport in Newtownabbey and beyond.”