- Text size: A A

Spirit of Volunteering Awards Results are in

01 October 2018

The second Antrim and Newtownabbey Spirit of Volunteering Awards took place on Thursday night at Theatre at The Mill. The awards, organised by Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council in association with Volunteer Now, recognise individuals and groups who volunteer within the Borough.  The ceremony was hosted by TV Broadcaster Claire McCollum, with the Lord Lieutenant for County Antrim, Mrs Joan Christie CVO OBE in attendance at the event.

Speaking at the awards ceremony the Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor Paul Michael commented; “I am continuously overwhelmed by the number of volunteers and the vast amount of work that they carry out across the Borough. These volunteers selflessly dedicate their time and abilities to helping others and I am pleased that the Council and its partners have recognised their efforts through these awards.”

The recipients of the 2018 Antrim and Newtownabbey Spirit of Volunteering Awards were:  

  • Newcomer Award: Ronnie Ramshaw, New Mossley Presbyterian Special Needs Youth Club
  • Team Spirit Award: Toome Men’s Shed
  • Personal Achievement Award: Gordon Harper
  • Community Impact Award: Robert Neeson, Antrim Community Rescue Service
  • Social & Community Enterprise Award: The Bridge Association, Antrim
  • Lifetime Contribution to Volunteering: Mary Carse, Abbots Cross Presbyterian Girls’ Brigade
  • Mayor’s Award: Janet Millar, Antrim Welfare Group
  • Lord-Lieutenant’s Award: Paul McKinley, Glengormley Integrated Primary School Board of Governors

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council would like to thank the award sponsors for their support: Cromore Castles, Newtownabbey Rotary Club, Volunteer Now, G Force Amusements, EA Davies Insurance and NILGA.