- Text size: A A

New Year Honours List for 2018

02 January 2018

The New Year Honours List for 2018 was recently published which recognises the achievements and service of individuals across the United Kingdom. Seven of the Honours recipients were from Antrim and Newtownabbey, namely Mrs. Grace Nesbitt, Mrs. Cynthia Cherry, Mrs. Patricia Martin, Mrs Olive Maybin, Ms. Sandra Moore, Mr. Kenneth Nelson, Mrs. Gayle Carson and Mrs. Barbara McKinley.

Mrs. Grace Nesbitt received an OBE (Order of the British Empire) for her services to Government in Northern Ireland and for voluntary and charitable services. Mrs Cynthia Cherry received an MBE (Member of the British Empire) for her services to the community and Charitable Fundraising in Northern Ireland. Mrs Patricia Martin received an MBE for her services to Road Safety in Northern Ireland. Mrs Olive Maybin received an OBE for public service. Ms Sandra Moore received an MBE for her services to Tackling Homelessness. Mr Kenneth Nelson received an MBE for his services to Economic Development in the Voluntary Sector. Mrs Gayle Carson received a BEM (British Empire Medal) for services to Prisoner Welfare and charity in Northern Ireland. Mrs Barbara McKinley received a BEM for her services to Culture in Northern Ireland.

Mrs Joan Christie OBE the Lord Lieutenant of Co. Antrim now becomes a Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO)

Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councilor Paul Hamill commented, “It is fantastic news that so many of our residents are on the New Year’s Honours List. The awards demonstrate the work and dedication of these residents to their services. I would like to personally congratulate all recipients for these prestigious awards, well done on this fantastic achievement. It is also great news to see Mrs Joan Christie receive recognition for her hard work with the award of the Royal Victorian Order.”