- Text size: A A

New Mayor for Antrim and Newtownabbey

06 June 2017

At the Council’s Annual General Meeting on Monday 5 June, the new Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey was elected. Councillor Paul Hamill from the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) will serve for the 2017/18 term. Councillor Hamill is from the Macedon DEA has was first elected as a Councillor in 2014.

Councillor Hamill commented, “I am very humbled and grateful to be selected as the next Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey. It is a great honor and wonderful privilege to be selected to this office and I am looking forward to the year ahead.”

Councillor Vera McWilliam from the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) was also elected as Deputy Mayor at the meeting. Councillor McWilliam represents the Ballyclare DEA and previously served as Mayor in the former Newtownabbey Borough Council in 2000-2001 and 2001-2002.