- Text size: A A

A glittering success for the first Sports Awards

27 February 2017

The first Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Sports Awards took place recently in the stunning surroundings of Theatre at The Mill. Over 200 people attended the glittering awards ceremony which was hosted by UTV’s Denise Watson.

Organised by Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council, this prestigious event honoured the outstanding achievements of our local sporting stars as well as celebrating the invaluable work carried out by the many hundreds of volunteers and professionals involved in sport within our Borough.

Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor John Scott commented; “It is an honour to be here tonight amongst such sporting heroes. Looking around the room tonight, the wealth of talent is outstanding and represents the high standard of performers that our Borough continues to produce. Not only do we produce high profile athletes, but we are very fortunate to have an invaluable support system of volunteers and coaches who are the building blocks behind that sporting success.”

Councillor Scott continues; “I would like to congratulate not only the winners but each of the nominees who have made it this far. The standard of entries across each of the categories was extremely high and I know the Sports Awards group had a very difficult task selecting the winners.”

British and Irish Rugby Legend and Chairman of the Sports Awards group, Dr Willie John McBride MBE echoed the Mayor’s sentiments; “I believe that this is one of the most important events in the Council’s calendar and I am delighted that we are able to honour our sporting stars within the Borough. Sport has the power to inspire and unite people in a way that nothing else does. The standard of nominations we received was outstanding and I would like to congratulate all those who were nominated and shortlisted.”

The winners of each of the categories were:
- Services to Sports: Debbie Peachey, Mossley Hockey Club
- Junior Team of the Year: Merville Ju Jitsu Club
- Club of the Year: Antrim Rovers Football Club
- Coach of the Year: Pauline Thom
- Junior Sportsman of the Year: Tom McKibbin
- Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Dr Michael McKillop
- Adult Sportsperson of the Year: Jonathan Rea
- Janet Parkinson Award: John Jackson, Mark Gleghorne & Paul Gleghorne

For a full list of nominees in each of the categories log onto www.antrimandnewtownabbey.gov.uk/sportsawards