- Text size: A A

New Mayor for Antrim and Newtownabbey

06 June 2016

At the Council’s Annual General Meeting on Monday 6 June, the new Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council was elected. Councillor John Scott from the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) will serve for the 2016/17 term. Councillor Scott, from the Macedon DEA has been a Councillor for 11 years, and previously served as Mayor in 2009/2010.

Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor John Scott commented, “It is a real privilege to be selected for Mayor. I am looking forward to a busy year of engagements and I hope that 2016/17 will be a prosperous year for our Borough.”

Councillor Noreen McClelland from the Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP) was also elected as Deputy Mayor at the meeting. Councillor McClelland represents the Glengormley DEA and has been a Councillor for 15 years.