- Text size: A A

Antrim and Newtownabbey Awarded Charter Status

26 January 2016

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council have received the prestigious Elected Member Development Charter award, a national standard of excellence gained by a small number of the UK’s 400+ local authorities. The award represents clear recognition of the Council’s sustained commitment to developing and supporting Councillor learning and community participation.

Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor Thomas Hogg commented, “This award is a fantastic achievement for Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council. The Charter Status demonstrates the Councillors’ and officers’ commitment to supporting Elected Members’ learning and development.”

Speaking at the presentation of the award at Antrim Civic Centre on the 25th January 2016, Alderman Carla Lockhart, President of the Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA), emphasised Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough’s real achievement,

“NILGA led a detailed and arduous assessment to determine if Council met the Charter standard. Commitment, effective communication, officer – member partnership, community engagement, corporate and constituent level work, and learning gained, planned and required for each councillor to enhance their public service skills were assessed. Clearly, Antrim and Newtownabbey do in practice what is presented on paper, the local authority received a high score on many aspects, including its plans for continuous improvement of member learning and development as it plans for and invests in the community.”

CAPTION: (L-R) Councillor David Hollis; Chief Executive of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Jacqui Dixon; Deputy Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor John Blair; Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor Thomas Hogg; Councillor Stephen Ross; President of NILGA, Alderman Carla Lockhart; Councillor Roisin Lynch; Councillor Michael Goodman; Councillor Vera McWilliam and Councillor Paul Michael at the presentation of the NILGA Elected Member Development Charter award.