- Text size: A A

Sports Awards 2016-2017

The first Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Sports Awards took place on Thursday 23 February in the stunning surroundings of Theatre at The Mill.

Congratulations to our winners and those who made the final shortlist:

Services to Sport
Winner: Debbie Peachey
Nominees: Michael Maguire
                    Paul & Mandi Timperley

Junior Team of the Year
Winner: Merville Ju Jitsu Club
Nominees: Shogun Ju Jitsu International Ireland
                    Ballyclare Colts

Club of the Year
Winner: Antrim Rovers Football Club
Nominees: Knights Wheelchair Basketball Club
                    Ballymena & Antrim Athletics Club

Coach of the Year
Winner: Pauline Thom
Nominees: Owen Doole
                     Trevor McFarland

Junior Sportsman of the Year
Winner: Tom McKibbin
Nominees: Gemma Ferguson
                     Erin Getty

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
Winner: Michael McKillop
Nominee: Aaron Gillen

Adult Sportsperson of the Year
Winner: Jonathan Rea
Nominees: John Jackson, Paul Gleghorne & Mark Gleghorne
                    Lisa Gormley

Janet Parkinson Award
Winner: John Jackson, Paul Gleghorne & Mark Gleghorne

This prestigious awards ceremony highlighted the invaluable work carried out by the many hundreds of volunteers and professionals involved in sport within our Borough.

For more information on the Sports Awards please contact Dean Holmes T. 028 9034 0065 or E. [email protected]